09
Apr
08

Of Dimsum And Discounts

Just got back from a four day-long Hong Kong (or 香港, if you want) trip two days ago, and I must say, that was one of the best trips I’ve ever had (then again, most HK trips are fun). I’m going to narrate in varying detail what happened, partly for your entertainment but mostly so I don’t forget lol. Oh, and this is damned long, you have been forewarned.

Friday: Departure to Chao Inn

This part is the one that includes us all waking up really early (around 6:30 in the morning, if I remember correctly) to make it to our flight. Lemme skim through part of this first–wake up, go to NAIA, wait for flight in lounge (drank a little Black Label HAHAHA), board. Now comes the good part: we were upgraded from economy to business class. We (whenever I say we, it usually refers to my parents and I) have been upgraded to business class in the past (and I’ve enjoyed it every time) but this was the first time we (or at least I) had been upgraded on a Cathay Pacific flight. So, we ended up with seats like these:

Made of win.

The best part about those seats is that they recline far enough to give you a flat bed, so for most of the flight I was lying down while listening to a playlist I made in the inflight entertainment system using the noise-cancelling headphones provided. The food was delicious, being dimsum (which would be a recurring theme in our trip, lol).

When we got to the airport in HK (a far cry from the one we’ve got), my immigration took a little while (because of my hair, I little resembled my passport picture). Smooth sailing after that, though (I’m still impressed with the transportation in HK: from the airport, you can take a train to well-located stations, which have buses that go to many hotels, with the one you’re staying at presumably one of them). We didn’t stay at our hotel for long: we left for the Esprit outlet (not the last outlet we’d visit), got clothes (mostly for me), and went to a supermarket to get stuff that’s hard to find in the good ol’ RP–mostly Qoo, though. At this point, you may be asking yourself, what is Qoo? Well, this is Qoo:

It’s white grape juice, which is extremely tasty (and what I brought home as pasalubong for my cousins). All other food items we got on the trip were secondary with the possible exception of meatball gravy from IKEA. After that, we went to mass, mainly to pray for my dad’s cousin and his son, who were both seriously injured in an accident.

Then came dinner, which would be the first time we’d meet my dad’s old classmates from training at IBM 25 years ago (there were many more meetings planned over the next few days, but we only went to one more). We went to this Chinese restaurant called Chao Inn, where assloads of dishes were ordered. I didn’t have rice, partly because it took so long to show up, but also because I need more protein in my diet (refute me). Truth be told, I was slightly bored through all of this, being the only kid present (and my parents told me to lay off the music for a while, which compounded the problem). After this, we returned to our hotel and I went to bed (lamig).

Saturday: ‘Splorin to House-visiting

Woke up late here, and found out my parents had gone to mass while I was out (for my dad’s relatives again). We didn’t really have anything on our agenda for most of the day (my dad’s classmates had lunch, but we declined), so pretty much all we did was go around HK and check out shops (we spend a particularly long time at G2000). Like so:

We met up with my dad’s classmates again to go to the house of two other classmates who got married lol to have dinner. Spotted this on the way there:

There are lots of cars like that in HK, too. I wasn’t as bored tonight, because the hosts kindly let me use a computer there, so I got to YM and surf randomly. The food was good again, but I got too much and couldn’t clear my plate. After this, we took the train back to Kowloon (the house was on the island) and went back to the hotel to get some rest. I think I watched Little Nicky in our hotel room lol.

Sunday: Mass to Mong Kok (not the restaurant)

It’s Sunday. Of course we went to mass (the chapel was pretty full, with a lot of people being forced to stand, us included). We had lunch after this, dimsum again (told you so). We took a ferry to the island after lunch, going around and getting more stuff (like that meatball gravy I mentioned earlier). While waiting for my mom to get the gravy, my dad and I stopped at Haagen-Dazs and got some of this:

The ice cream on the right is coffee, nothing special as far as Haagen-Dazs goes. I’d like to direct your attention to the ice cream on the left, which is Baileys-flavored. Yes, you read that right: Baileys-flavored. That makes it some of the best-tasting ice cream ever. XD

We went to this mall called Langham Place (I think) afterward (for the first time for all of us), and we ended up taking a look around.

Eventually, we had to take a break, as my feet were aching from all the walking around. We walked over to some streets that are closed on Sundays (for shopping purposes), but we didn’t stay too long as we were tired as hell by then. I ended up with eight different items of clothing from the Bossini outlet (including a jacket that makes me look “not thin” 😉 ), and a pair of noise-blocking headphones after some not-so-lengthy canvassing.

Monday: Sogo to Arrival

Woke up at around lunch time again today, so we went to Sogo and had Japanese food for lunch. Got a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough ice cream after that, and ate it back at the hotel (extremely delicious, but hard to finish, especially after having lunch). Packed up and went back to the airport after finishing the ice cream, flew home soon after (no more upgrading to business class, sadly). I think I liked the food on the return trip more, though (I had to ask for another chicken sandwich). Landed in Manila at around 7 in the evening, and got home uneventfully.

Well, that’s about it. I had a lot of fun on the trip, and hopefully I won’t be forgetting about it anytime soon, thanks to this post.

PS: DAWN OF WAR 2 HAS BEEN ANNOUNCED!!! 😀 😀 😀
Check it out over here!

12 Responses to “Of Dimsum And Discounts”


  1. April 12, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    haha. you were in hk too? cool.

    now i get why i didn’t see you there — i didn’t go to kowloon. XD

  2. April 12, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    China trip, eh?
    Noise-canceling headphones?
    Bailey ice cream?
    Shopping like mad?
    German metal abundance?
    Not winter anymore?
    Good for you.

  3. April 15, 2008 at 11:11 am

    No wonder HK is awesome- I spotted 4 Ferraris, 2 Lambos, 50+ Mercs, and 2 Miatas. >8D

  4. April 15, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Wow. Tell me there was a Versace there? 😀

  5. 5 alegre
    April 16, 2008 at 1:47 am

    here’s your comment, beef jerky-linted great friend. =))

    omg, did you eat at the dirty restaurants? they have the BEST food there, i swear. nothing much to buy in hongkong if you look at the -tiangge-, but they own with the designer shops. i ❤ zara hk. :D:D:D

    you should reaaaally try half-baked. =)) GOGOGOGO.

    btw, what car is that?
    and i want that ice cream. D:< are we even now?! =))

  6. June 17, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    Keep clear of going into public hot tubs, pools, or saunas for a
    minimum of several hours and if possible a day or two right
    after a waxing. My theory was that if I could make it through
    a bikini wax appointment without kicking or laughing
    hysterically, that I’ve overcome the hardest part. As an adult she had roles in a number of places in Atlanta for a Brazilian bikini wax, this, simply put, is a popular method of leg hair reduction.

  7. June 17, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    This Great Deal is valid between Monday the 11th of October 2011.
    You can do your own shellac nail manicure is only about $10-20 more than a
    regular manicure and will last 2-3 times longer.

    After your facial you will have a shellac nails and toes treatment.

    UV light hardens the shellac nails Completed~!

    I didn’t even think to take a picture at the beginning.

  8. June 18, 2013 at 12:15 am

    I wanted to share with you my experience with shellac
    nails. If you haven’t heard of this two week manicure I had to have gel qualifications. The downside to Shellac is that you have to place your hands under a UV lamp to cure each coat of the base, nail polish and top coat. shellac nails look as good, if not all of the Shellac. It has been four days with them now and they still look absolutely fabulous and theres not a scratch or chip in sight.

  9. July 16, 2013 at 11:57 pm

    The foundation began planning for a museum in 1999, and a great time to people who love walking,
    cycling and jogging. Mr Curran said corrosion could be eliminated by flushing the pipes annually.
    He added:” It’s important for owners of care homes across London have been ordered to improve after failing to achieve even basic fire training standards, a BBC investigation has learned.

  10. August 2, 2013 at 6:04 am

    Powder extinguishers are also known to be an important reason for teaching
    study. Benefits of photoelectric smoke detectorsSmoldering fires
    produce teaching study toxic fumes. Practice your plan It
    is essential that you teach your kids on how to use the extinguisher
    on. You can help distribute campaign flyers that give information about teaching study.
    Do you know that people who are 85 and older are five times
    more likely than younger people to die in a fire has broken out in
    their home. One was a receptionist and the other was dressed in
    sleepwear.

  11. August 2, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    Here” s my top ten reasons that some online backup companies fail. They rated one of the biggest problems I see with small businesses and medium-sized businesses. The organization also serves most of the data. As far as online backup ease of maintenance and servicing, all important benefits forthe growing number of telecom operators deploying these systems aroundthe globe.


Leave a Reply

intro.

Presenting the thoughts and travails of a teenage writer who lives under a rock--albeit a rock with Internet access. Also, videos! Also, my Tumblr.

headshot!

  • 32,485 frags

ye random thought.

"For just this once, can we pretend it's you and me?" -Thinking Of You by Test Your Reflex

where in the world!?

from the author.

Check the pages every month or so (Egos, Fiction, Musings, Origins), I usually add stuff little by little (with the possible exception of Fiction, which really depends). Oh, and credits to Joaq for the header image.

by popular demand.

counting the days.

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

