10
Sep
07

In Other News…


For once, I will be writing about stuff that doesn’t matter just to people who know me personally, although what I’ll be writing might be a bit short, being a compilation of a few things I’ve picked up. First, this awesome song:

1. The new iPods are out.

Yes sirree, ladies and gentlemen, those things you see up there are the new iPods (I’ve only listed the changes and basic specs):

The iPod Shuffle
– the one that’s changed the least, all in all
– comes in different colors now (I mean different from the ones before), including the (PRODUCT) RED version
– still at 1GB (no more 512MB version), sells for $79 (approx. PHP3,713)

The iPod Nano
– can play video
– bigger than the previous version, to accommodate the larger, video-playing screen
– also comes in different colors from before, and also comes in the (PRODUCT) RED version
– same specs, with the 4GB version selling at $149 (approx. PHP7,003) and the 8GB version selling at $199 (approx. PHP9,353)

The iPod Classic
– yes, it’s now called the iPod Classic, instead of just the iPod
– now sports an anodized aluminum casing, just like the Nano and Shuffle
– has a redesigned menu and now supports Cover Flow (just like the Nano), a feature first shown in iTunes 7, get it here)
– comes in 80GB and 160GB(!) versions, with the 80GB version selling for $249 (approx. PHP11,703), and the 160GB version selling for $349 (approx. PHP16,403)

The (sort of all-new) iPod Touch
– basically the iPhone without the phone features, like calling and texting
– still has Wi-Fi though, and you can purchase music from the iTunes Music Store using its Wi-Fi
-the 8GB version sells for $299 (approx. PHP14,053), and the 16GB version sells for $399 (approx. PHP18,753)

Hmm, they look good, especially the Nano, which can play video now. But is it really good? Well, given Apple’s awesomeness in the past, I think we can safely say these new iPods will rock the house.

2. RF Online is now free.

RF Online, for those of you who don’t know, is an MMORPG which is hosted in the Philippines by Level-Up Games, of Ragnarok Online fame. It’s set in a world called Novus, with three factions: the elven Cora, the human Bellato, and the robotic Accrecia (which are my race of choice). I’m putting this here because I used to play, until I got tired of having to pay to play (I sorely missed it for some time afterward, though)–but guess what!? IT’S NOW FREE!!!!!111oneone I’ll be playing again, as soon as I have enough space to play.

3. I have taken interest in Mr Men again.

Mr Men are characters from a children’s book series created by Roger Hargreaves, and continued by his son Adam. There are many Mr Men, from the first one, Mr Tickle, to my personal favorite, Mr Happy. I grew up reading Mr Men, and I gave the books I to my cousins as I grew older and got tired of them. Recently though, I’ve remembered those books, and I borrowed some of them back, rereading them. It might be just a passing fancy, but I really hope not–the books are timeless, and boy, do they give me a sense of nostalgia.

Phew, now I’ve finally written a (somewhat more) relevant post–I’ll try to write some more in the future, although no promises.

4 Responses to “In Other News…”


  1. September 11, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    I can see that…(refers to the first paragraph)

  2. 2 Joe
    September 11, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    haha, did the picture make it obvious or something? XD

  3. September 11, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    MR. MEN!!! AAhh… MR. COOL’S STILL THE BEST PARIN!!! XD

  4. 4 Joe
    September 11, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    wehh, no one beats mr happy. 😛


Leave a Reply

intro.

Presenting the thoughts and travails of a teenage writer who lives under a rock--albeit a rock with Internet access. Also, videos! Also, my Tumblr.

headshot!

  • 32,485 frags

ye random thought.

"For just this once, can we pretend it's you and me?" -Thinking Of You by Test Your Reflex

where in the world!?

from the author.

Check the pages every month or so (Egos, Fiction, Musings, Origins), I usually add stuff little by little (with the possible exception of Fiction, which really depends). Oh, and credits to Joaq for the header image.

by popular demand.

counting the days.

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

