15
Dec
06

Latin 101

Since I’m out of ideas as to what to post, but feel like posting something funny, I’ll post this article from Uncle John’s 4-Ply Bathroom Reader. It starts here.

So you thought Latin was dead? Latin For All Occasions, by Henry Beard, brings it back to life. Here are some excerpts:

Useful phrase: “Amicule, deliciae, num is sum qui mentiar tibi?”
Meaning: “Baby, sweetheart, would I lie to you?”

Useful phrase: “Perscriptio in manibus tabellariorum est.”
Meaning: “The check is in the mail.”

Useful phrase: “Braccae tuae aperiuntur.”
Meaning: “Your fly is open.”

Useful phrase: “Da mihi sis bubulae frustum assae, solana tuberosa in modo Gallico fricta ac quassum lactatum coagulatum crassum.”
Meaning: “I’ll have a hamburger, French fries, and a thick shake.”

Useful phrase: Cur non isti mictum ex occasione?”
Meaning: “Why didn’t you go when you had the chance?”

Useful phrase: “In rivo fimi sine rivo sum.”
Meaning: “I’m up the creek without a paddle.”

Useful phrase: “Est mihi nulluus nummus superfluus.”
Meaning: “I do not have any spare change.”

Useful phrase: “Lex clavatoris designati rescindenda est.”
Meaning: “The designated-hitter rule has got to go.”

Useful phrase: “Observa quo vadis, cinaede!”
Meaning: “Watch where you’re going, you jerk!”

Useful phrase: “Tractatorne in Germania Orinetali doctus est?”
Meaning: “Was your masseur trained in East Germany?”

Useful phrase: “Visne scire quod credam? Credo Elvem ipsum etiam vivere.”
Meaning: “You know what I think? I think that Elvis is still alive.”

Useful phrase: “Di! Ecce hora! Uxor mea necabit!”
Meaning: “God, look at the time! My wife will kill me!”

You can see why I used one of thee phrases for my blog. XD

22 Responses to “Latin 101”


  1. 1 NYA NYA
    December 15, 2006 at 7:49 pm

    omg. so that’s what it meant. @-) hahahahaha and:

    Useful phrase: “Da mihi sis bubulae frustum assae, solana tuberosa in modo Gallico fricta ac quassum lactatum coagulatum crassum.”
    Meaning: “I’ll have a hamburger, French fries, and a thick shake.”

    my favorite. 🙂

  2. December 15, 2006 at 9:05 pm

    my favorite is the one i used. 😛

  3. 3 Jelo
    December 15, 2006 at 10:45 pm

    I thought that *censored* was gonna comment first. 😛

    “Observa quo vadis, cinaede!” XD

  4. December 16, 2006 at 9:07 pm

    riiiiiiiiiiight, jelo. >_>

  5. December 16, 2006 at 10:51 pm

    jelo> eh? i was out, you know. slept over somewhere. no internet, unless you want me to pay.

    lol, i had to look back when i read this:

    Useful phrase: “Visne scire quod credam? Credo Elvem ipsum etiam vivere.”
    Meaning: “You know what I think? I think that Elvis is still alive.”

    i better shut up.

    oh, and yeah, i can see why you used one of the phrases above for this. LOL.

    maaarz signing out.

  6. December 17, 2006 at 6:56 am

    ooh, i wonder what drew your attention to that particular phrase. XD

  7. 7 andrea
    December 17, 2006 at 9:07 pm

    marz was looking as if she was daydreaming in the mall kanina. XD i saw her in sm. maybe she saw chris tiu? XDDDDD

  8. December 17, 2006 at 9:22 pm

    don’t mind the previous comment, joe, i was just, uh, being weird at the time. as always.

    -__-

    maaarz signing out.

  9. December 17, 2006 at 9:34 pm

    oh, riiiiiiiight. XD XD XD

  10. December 17, 2006 at 10:52 pm

    Useful phrase: “Est mihi nulluus nummus superfluus.”
    Meaning: “I do not have any spare change.”

    for those who hate caroling. XD

    Useful phrase: “Amicule, deliciae, num is sum qui mentiar tibi?”
    Meaning: “Baby, sweetheart, would I lie to you?”

    sounds like paul. XD

  11. December 17, 2006 at 11:06 pm

    it could also be jelo. XD

  12. December 17, 2006 at 11:07 pm

    lol, i actually like the “baby, sweetheart..” thing. HAHA.

    maaarz signing out.

  13. December 19, 2006 at 12:18 pm

    what the hell, alvin? O_o

  14. October 17, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    All ’round amazing article

  15. November 28, 2011 at 4:24 am

    You couldn’t be more on the level!

  16. May 27, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    Great Stuff, do you currently have a myspace account?

  17. April 11, 2013 at 4:18 am

    Its such as you read my mind! You seem to know so much approximately this,
    like you wrote the e-book in it or something.
    I think that you just could do with a few percent to power the message
    home a bit, but instead of that, this is magnificent blog.
    A great read. I will certainly be back.

  18. July 20, 2013 at 7:32 am

    Hi, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet
    Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you
    a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing blog!

  19. May 21, 2014 at 12:42 am

    Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed!

    Very helpful info specially the closing section 🙂 I care for such information much.
    I used to be seeking this certain information for
    a long time. Thank you and besst of luck.

  20. September 21, 2014 at 11:54 am

    You ought to take part in a contest for one of the most useful sites
    on the net. I am going to highly recommend this web site!


Leave a Reply

intro.

Presenting the thoughts and travails of a teenage writer who lives under a rock--albeit a rock with Internet access. Also, videos! Also, my Tumblr.

headshot!

  • 32,485 frags

ye random thought.

"For just this once, can we pretend it's you and me?" -Thinking Of You by Test Your Reflex

where in the world!?

from the author.

Check the pages every month or so (Egos, Fiction, Musings, Origins), I usually add stuff little by little (with the possible exception of Fiction, which really depends). Oh, and credits to Joaq for the header image.

by popular demand.

counting the days.

December 2006
S M T W T F S
    Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

